20 September 2019

Travis Beard honoured at YMCA awards night

The best of the best for 2018-19 were acknowledged at the YMCA South Australia staff awards on Friday, 13 September, with St Clair Recreation Centre’s Travis Beard winning the Outstanding Achievement in Recreational Activities award.

St Clair Stadium Sports Director Travis Beard accepting the Outstanding Achievement in Recreational Activities award

The award recognises a person that has set themselves apart from their peers through their dedication to best practice and striving for the highest standards in delivery of indoor and/or outdoor recreational activities.

Travis has been pivotal in setting up and running stadium sports and programs at St Clair in its first year of operation, with over 140 teams now playing at the centre. He also played a huge part in securing large tournaments at the centre including the National AFL Wheelchair championships and Basketball SA state championships.

Highlights of the night included The Parks Recreation and Sports Centre taking out the YMCA of the Year award, along with an emotion-filled tribute to JMC Leap Takers coordinator Judith Jamieson, who was posthumously awarded the George Williams Employee of the Year. Judith passed away early this year after a battle with cancer.

In a fitting post-script the JMC Leap Takers, now run by Judith’s protégé Austin Magee, was also awarded the Program of the Year.

The annual event recognises the outstanding individual and organisational efforts over the past 12 months and is highly valued as a chance for staff teams from across the state to meet, engage and celebrate their common commitment and dedication to the work done by YMCA South Australia.

Other highlights included the announcement of Whyalla Recreation Centre stalwart Rae Watson as Volunteer of the Year, together with a double for The Valleys Lifestyle Centre with Hannah Salter named as Emerging Leader of the Year and Deb Noble taking out the Community Connections Award.

Other award recipients were: YMCA Glengowrie Gym Sports – Diversity and Inclusion award, Elyse Pitman (Flaxmill OSHC) - Children’s Programs award and Ryan Axon (The Parks) - Outstanding Contribution by a Young Employee.

The evening was hosted by YMCA South Australia CEO Haydn Robins and featured an address by Board member Warren Hall who has been involved with the YMCA for 30 years.